AND AROUND OSLO WITH "THE CARRIAGE" ON THE COBBLESTONES.
06.09.2012 6 °C
On the T-Bane to Aker Brygge (corrected spelling by Leanne) where all the ferry's are based in Oslo and then to Bygdoy by the small tourist ferry that goes to stops at the Folk Museum, the Fram Centre and the Kon Tiki Museum.
This day we went to the Folk Museum that was officially opened in 1889, though some of the building exhibits were moved earlier from the central part of Oslo to this site (which was then the Kings Farm). He, a Swedish King was concerned that a lot of the early historical and medieval buildings were being lost due to other development and people reusing the materials by tearing them down.
There are 158 relocated buildings including the Gol Stave Church, built in 1221, and a complete farm unit from 1420 something. they were relocated before the Folk Museum was opened. It boasts that it was the first open air museum in the world.
Sorry, can't get the Munch photos up. (maybe next blog)
In the meantime, travelling along the Oslo footpaths.
More next time. We are off to Trondhiem in the morning by train up the west coast (Fiordland- We've been told the scenery is spectacular.
Jack and Norma